To all the Moms (and Dads)…

This is beautiful…  
     
It all began to make sense, the blank stares, the lack of response, the way one of the kids will walk into the room while I’m on the phone and ask to be taken to the store. Inside I’m thinking, ‘Can’t you see I’m on the phone?’
 
 Obviously not; no one can see if I’m on the phone, or cooking, or sweeping the floor, or even standing on my head in the corner, because no one can see me at all. I’m invisible.. The invisible Mom. Some days I am only a pair of hands, nothing more! Can you fix this? Can you tie this? Can you open this??
 
 Some days I’m not a pair of hands; I’m not even a human being. I’m a clock to ask, ‘What time is it?’ I’m a satellite guide to answer, ‘What number is the Disney Channel?’ I’m a car to order, ‘Right around 5:30, please.’
 
 Some days I’m a crystal ball; ‘Where’s my other sock?, Where’s my phone?, What’s for dinner?’
 
 I was certain that these were the hands that once held books and the eyes that studied history, music and literature -but now, they had disappeared into the peanut butter, never to be seen again. She’s going, she’s going, she’s gone!?
 
 One night, a group of us were having dinner, celebrating the return of a friend from England. She had just gotten back from a fabulous trip, and she was going on and on about the hotel she stayed in. I was sitting there, looking around at the others all put together so well. It was hard not to compare and feel sorry for myself. I was feeling pretty pathetic, when she turned to me with a beautifully wrapped package, and said, ‘I brought you this.’ It was a book on the great cathedrals of Europe.
 
 I wasn’t exactly sure why she’d given it to me until I read her inscription: ‘With admiration for the greatness of what you are building when no one sees.’
 
 In the days ahead I would read – no, devoured – the book. And I would discover what would become for me, four life-changing truths, after which I could pattern my work: 1) No one can say who built the great cathedrals – we have no record of their names. 2) These builders gave their whole lives for a work they would never see finished. 3) They made great sacrifices and expected no credit. 4) The passion of their building was fueled by their faith that the eyes of God saw everything.
 
 A story of legend in the book told of a rich man who came to visit the cathedral while it was being built, and he saw a workman carving a tiny bird on the inside of a beam. He was puzzled and asked the man, ‘Why are you spending so much time carving that bird into a beam that will be covered by the roof, No one will ever see it And the workman replied, ‘Because God sees.’
 
 I closed the book, feeling the missing piece fall into place. It was almost as if I heard God whispering to me, ‘I see you. I see the sacrifices you make every day, even when no one around you does.
 
 No act of kindness you’ve done, no sequin you’ve sewn on, no cupcake you’ve baked, no Cub Scout meeting, no last minute errand is too small for me to notice and smile over. You are building a great cathedral, but you can’t see right now what it will become.
 
 I keep the right perspective when I see myself as a great builder. As one of the people who show up at a job that they will never see finished, to work on something that their name will never be on. The writer of the book went so far as to say that no cathedrals could ever be built in our lifetime because there are so few people willing to sacrifice to that degree.
 
 When I really think about it, I don’t want my son to tell the friend he’s bringing home from college for Thanksgiving, ‘My Mom gets up at 4 in the morning and bakes homemade pies, and then she hand bastes a
turkey for 3 hours and presses all the linens for the table.’ That would mean I’d built a monument to myself. I just want him to want to come home. And then, if there is anything more to say to his friend, he’d say, ‘You’re gonna love it there…’
 
 As mothers, we are building great cathedrals. We cannot be seen if we’re doing it right. And one day, it is very possible that the world will marvel, not only at what we have built, but at the beauty that has been added to the world by the sacrifices of invisible mothers.
 
 Share this with all the Invisible Moms you know and the ones who will become them.

One week left then we go on holiday! Whoop whoop! hehe πŸ™‚ Been having troubles with our work ADSL, and the 3G has a mind of its own, probably overloaded network.


Jessica is doing very well. Her two top front teeth are almost completely out. She’s eating more textured & lumpy foods, and lets you know quick if she doesnt like something. But I think she definitely inherited Daddy’s sweet tooth! Not walking yet, but cruising along the furniture, sitting down, getting back up again, climbing stairs (we’ve got two steps on the stoep and she makes it look very easy, getting down though it a different thing…) 

She’s started to ‘learn’ things: when u ask her where’s the birdies, she looks and/or points outside. Where’s kitty she checks the floor! Been paging through a book with her, and there’s piccies of animals in,she loves the rabbit and if you ask ‘waar’s die hasie’ she points him out! So much cuteness!!

She had her measles injection last week, still holding thumbs that she wont get sick…not now before the holiday or during! 😦

On the Mommy front, things are good. Just hectic busy at work. We are probably moving office in the next week or so (holding thumbs it all happens when Im away..lol). As Im reading some of  the blogs, I totally see things ‘trending’ with the intimates being left behind after having a baby…can so relate! Hoping the rest & holiday will bring us a bit closer to each other.  We’ve been married for almost 5 yrs – we can do this!! πŸ™‚

Happy happyness to all the newly conceived!! 

Happy Birthday  to MICHELLE & DEBLET!  (At least have the correct date this time..lol)

Goodluck to those with troubles, God wont give you anything you cant handle, just keep strong!!

If I dont get around to blog before the holiday…I’ll post piccies afterwards –

Have an awesome week!!!

xxxx



18 thoughts on “To all the Moms (and Dads)…

  1. That was so beautiful I actually burst into tears! So indicative of how so many moms feels…but so true. I love this…thanks for sharing!

  2. Ag dis so mooi! En dankie vir die verjaarsdag wense – ek waardeer dit baie! Jy is hopeloos te stil hoor – mis jou! Min daggies voor die vakansie – dis so lekker om na iets te kan uitsien. Julle moet dit vreeslik geniet – en probeer baie rus! En klein Jessica klink te oulik – jy moet elke oomblik saam met haar geniet!Lekker werk verder! xxx

  3. Plesier – dink baie Ma’s voel so ‘invisible’. Mag jy net ‘n great dag he, jou werk min wees e jou baas jou sommer die middag afgee! πŸ™‚ Die werk hou my so besig, ons kort regtig nog iemand om te help, maar nu ja dink nie die baas gaan budge nie. Als moet seker eers uitmekaar val voor hulle dit sal doen, tot dan moet ons maar cope! Kan nie wag om haar see toe te vat nie – hoop sy gaan al die sand geniet! Sy is regtig so oulik nou, kan glad nie kla nie! Lekker dag vir jou ook *Happy birthday to you… ;)*

  4. Wonderful post, says it all.Yay on the holiday. I don’t think I would like someone else to move my office. Things have got to be “just so” if you know what I mean.

  5. Pleasure – Strongs with the Tween… perhaps give her a copy of this to read! πŸ™‚ She might just understand where you are coming from! Have a fab day! *hugs*

  6. Net ‘n tip! Vat maar altyd ‘n ekstra Coke bottel of iets met vars water saam strand toe om lyfies en handjies mee af te spoel – want glo my die sand gaan oral in en dan vryf hulle nog hulle oΓ« en gesig ook met ‘n handjie wat vol sand is. En baie wetwipes ook – maar dit haal nie al die sand af nie – net water doen!

  7. It does! Really cant wait – counting sleeps and all! I kinda hope I dont have to be here, its going to be a mission to move it all. The last move I did way more than my share – not this time! They can just pick up my desk, and transfer the lot as is to the new office…when Im back I’ll take a few ‘days’ to sort it all! I’ve gathered so much crap… I can build a treehouse! πŸ˜‰

  8. I love the cathedral story. A friend who visited Barcelona about 3 years ago told me of one that is being built there. Estimated time to build it is 300 years or something.

Leave a Reply

