Of Birthdays….

Apologies to those that use to follow my old Blog on Parent24, which died a quiet and not so painful death… along with most blogs on that side.

Between being a Mom, Wife and Worker (employee) time wasnt on my side.

So since my last post (which was roughly a year ago *gasp*) Jessica has grown into a beautiful little girl, no longer a baby nor toddler. She turned 3, 2 weeks ago. I loved planning her party and getting things just right. We had a Sophia themed princess party. Much to my dismay she wanted to change the party a few times…. spiderman, penguins, hello kitty…. luckily I could convince her Princess was the way to go! 🙂 Dont you just love Pinterest??

Anyways, as some of the Mom’s have blogged before, I invited about 10 friends from school and only 3 had the decency to RSVP. I considered being rude and send out an SMS reminding them to RSVP…and if they don’t I’ll accept it as a NO! Inconsiderate people…

Regardless the party ended up with 8 kids and 20 adults! We hired a pink jumping castle, which was a big hit with the kids (and cheap at R250 for the whole weekend). With the help of my Mom and Sister we did all the snacks self. In retro spect, next time I’ll just order a platter or two from somewhere! 🙂 Enjoyed meeting some of the other mom’s, actually getting to know them apart from the normal Hello’s and Good Bye’s at school. Time for play dates and all that jazz… we havent dont much of that yet. Weekends are normaly consumed by long lists of ‘to do’ things. Have to start somewhere making friends.

We bought her a little bicycle – she loves it. Keeps checking if she can ride in the house. So cute! She catching on quickly on how to cycle,  and she asks for her helmet – doesnt ride without it!

I’ll post some piccies as soon as Im up and running fully on this side.

 

*PS: please can someone tell me how to import my old Parent blogs to this one??

 

HAPPY WEEKEND TO YOU ALL!!

XXX

13 thoughts on “Of Birthdays….

  1. Halllooo!!! jissie, voel goed om weer van jou te hoor 🙂 kan nie glo jessica het 3 geword nie, tyd vlieg te vinnig…

    meeste van ons het geskuif, niemand stel meer belang in parent24 nie. baie hartseer, eintlik, maar nou ja.

    @mamacat het my nogal gehelp met die skuif, sy sal jou mooi kan sê. haar blog is mos ‘notes to honeybear’ so vra net vir haar.

    bly dit gaan nog goed xxx

    • Ja nee its about time ne! 🙂 Jip sy is nou 3, en vertel vinnig ek is 3 en ek is Baie groot!
      Dit half sad, ek het heelwat kontak verloor met die mense van die Blogs. Pop nog in om te lees en so, maar het ongelukkig ni else dag meer tyd nie!

      Sal vir Mamacat vra. Ek het try verlede week, maar geduld en motivering verloor toe die 16hoo slaan op ‘n vrydag middag! 🙂 Sal nou nou bietjie opvang daar by jou blog! Klein M is seker ook al groot!
      Lekker dag!
      x

  2. Hello there stranger.
    Yes, mamacat was quite instrumental in the move from P24 to WordPress. It was rather quick, but I’ve been there, done that and forgotten how to. I’ve got a memory like a sieve. Preggie brain and I ain’t even preggars.
    I hear you on the RSVP’s. Liams party is 5th July and I sent out the invites last week, asking to RSVP by 20th June. Now, I know there is like 3 weeks to RSVP, but I would’ve expected more that 2 RSVP’s by now. Perhaps we are just otherwise.
    Glad to hear Jess is growing up so nicely, can’t wait for some pics, not that you are back in the swing of things again.

    • Im trying to find all the ‘lost souls’ following them bit by bit! 😉
      Mamacat in contact – will try later this afternoon (or week) to move over the old posts.
      Im normally half tech savvy, but I get lost of all the settings, tools etc on the blogs nowadays!
      Its sommer bad manners not to RSVP… There goes a lot of planning etc into a party. Seems thats one thing till the end of kiddy birthdays we will have to live with… *darn*

      Thanks for the encouragement – think I need to speak to other Moms! 🙂 For my sanity and all….

    • soooo… liam’s and little M’s parties are both the 5th….. you didnt get RSVPs…. i didnt even send out an invite yet… makes me think i’m behind a bit 😉

      • No, you’re not behind at all. Last night (1st June) I got an sms inviting Liam to a party on 7th June. I have to RSVP by Wednesday 4th. DH says no, because it seems a bit like an afterthought to invite him now

      • I gave my ‘parents’ more than a month to RSVP… At least all who RSVP pitched! 🙂 You have to give yourself time to put it all together! 😉

    • lol – I just got an invite this morning for a party on Sat! Although the Mommy did tell me a while ago about the party and they’ve been on their Honeymoon – I’ll excuse them this time! 😉

  3. Aha, it is you! I saw you were following and I could not work out who you were, but I did end up at Sharon Lucas Pinterest page and downloaded a great crochet pattern for fingerless mittens.

    I see I am the expert here on moving your blog so here goes:
    I P24 you must go to your Dashboard.
    Scroll down and you will see a menu called “Tools”
    Hover at “Tools” and you will see a fly-out menu
    In the fly-out menu you will see the word “Export”
    Click on “Export”
    You can now save the “xml” file somewhere on your PC.
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/export/ (for a help file)

    Then go to your new https://sharonsmittens.wordpress.com site.
    Go to your Dashboard
    Scroll down and you will see a menu called “Tools”
    Hover at “Tools” and you will see a fly out menu
    In the fly-out menu you will see the word “Import”
    Click on “Import”
    A window will open with all the different types of blog sites. Choose “WordPress”
    The click “Browse” and pick the file from where you saved it on you PC
    Then click “Upload file and Import”
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/import/ (for a help file)

    That should bring across all your posts from P24.
    If you have any problems, please drop me an email or a comment here and I will try to help further.

  4. Yippee! Glad to see another one made it over. Helen makes me out to be a rebel type, undermining P24, lol. I was just sad that it was so dead there and the reason for blogging was gone. At least here we seem to have recaptured some of that old spirit.
    I forgot how cute your little Jessica is.

Leave a Reply

