Time Flies

Wow so yet again I have neglected my Blog… Somehow I’m not surprised!
Even at work I’m struggling to get around to everything. You start the day with a list of stuff to do, by the end of the day nothing is done – and the list just got longer!
I’ve been thru a month of being sick, twice to the doctor, booked off twice for a couple of days… when I got the same bug the 3rd time round, I self medicated! Couldn’t face another batch of antibiotics, cortisone or both and I made it out alive! 🙂 Made me think, maybe that saying: “Going to the doctor for flu, it will take 2 weeks to recover, if not it will take 14days… ” might be some truth to it.
A lot of people getting the same bugs (flu etc) two 3 times, or simply not getting better or much worse!
We’ve been lucky (touch wood) Jessica only had a slight upper respiratory infection end June – still got a bit of a runny nose, Paed calls it ‘crèche nose’, and it’s actually better over weekends… away from school!

Jessica is doing very well otherwise – she’s got her temper a bit more under control. Still have outbursts, but not as explosive as before. I love that we can have whole conversations, explaining how things work and why – and she remembers and then tells it back to you. She loves all things pink and girly, and of course Barbie – thank goodness you get those DVD’s for dirt cheap! She loves watching it…

I’m feeling like quite a failure as Mom, if it wasn’t for the monthly Baby Centre updates and school – I wouldn’t know what she should be doing at her age. She still speaks a lot clearer than some of the friends at school. She uses big sentences and describes things too in her own colourful way. With me sometimes lost on some of the Afrikaans words and English school friends & cousin, she’s picking up some English. The one day at dinner, she told me “dankie Mamma, dis delicious” lol. Beautiful also pops up a lot! She counts 1-10 both English and Afrikaans, she even mixes the two up in the right order. Must go find a toddler update – and do proper update!
I’ve been putting off (someone say procrastinate) phoning local primary schools to book Jessica a spot. It still feels far away – but its not… must make a plan. I don’t know if its because we don’t have friends with the same age kids, I feel kinda lost with the Primary School thing… I don’t know the local schools (only the what I hear from other parents on the odd occasion), I don’t know which one will suit her or us best. Price wise they are all similar, distance wise, there are 3 within a 10km radius (2 of which is within 5km) from home. Then there’s the afterschool ‘issue’ – her school now (crèche) offers after care until I think grade 6 (again – I better check), how will she get there? Where are (will) her friends go to school? Am I sending her to the right school? Would she fit in? So many questions so little answers…
We had a Parent Day at school on Friday past. She was so shy, she wouldn’t play with her friends, or participate in the few class activities, she just wanted Mom & Dad! Which I guess is kind of normal – but its so weird seeing her so shy! This from a little girl, who wears a little tutu, doing ‘ballet dancing’ in the garden while singing her own made up songs (about anything I tell you, ANYTHING!), who chats non-stop at home, or dances in shops because she likes the music playing… My not so little Princess!
As Helen would say – I’ve hit page 2! Time to wrap it up….

Seems Sept will be a busy month weekend wise – got birthdays & parties coming up, going to the visit my in laws, got tickets for the Homemakers Expo, and it’s the bi-annual Air Show in Waterkloof! *im tired just of making the list* haha 
Look after yourselves!

PS: I promised some cookie recipes – if I get a chance tomorrow, will post it. Peanut Butter Cookies & Chocolate Nougat Cookies!

3 thoughts on “Time Flies

  1. Hope you feel better soon. I seem to have missed the flu bug this season although both DH and Liam have been hit, DH the worst. I wonder if the fact that they are both sinus sufferers make it worse?
    Don’t put off the school thing. You need to get her on a list ASAP. I told my boss 2 years ago that I would need time off to go look at schools etc, and he was quite alright with me having time off. You have to do it, it’s closer than you think. I can rest easy now knowing that I at least have a school for Liam for next year. Only time will tell whether it is the right school. No one knows what you are getting into, truely, until you are there.
    Have a good day Mittens

    • I definitely think sinusses makes it worse!
      I better get my act together for the school search. Also we’ve missed all the open days (remember seeing the sign’s up earlier this year) .Gathered the numbers – will phone and find out! My other ‘inner struggle’ do I send her from Gr0, or from Gr R?
      I guess it both has a its pro’s and con’s. I would like her to be a ‘child’ as long as we can! You have an entire 13 yrs of school ahead – why add another year? lol
      How did your interview go?

  2. I have been sick 3 times too, and he last time is when i finally made it to the doctor (only because I had an ear infection)
    The school thing makes me sad. I do not want to do big school yet, only because it seems convenient for me but not right for HB.
    I gave up checking on milestones, and the school keeps us updated, so I am lazy.
    I have such a shy boy, it worries me…it is like you say, at home they chatter but not out and about.

Leave a Reply

